h1

Raido music.

March 17, 2008

Sick of it. Totally sick of the crap they play. Sick of the sellouts to the studios. Sick of the same song getting played what seems like every time I get in the car. I can name a few that are not necessarily bad songs, just over played.

  • Pennywise – Western World
  • The Foo Fighters – The Pretender
  • The Killers – When you were young

I called the local radio station today, KROQ. I have been a faithful listener for many years, but in the past few months, actually more like 8 months it seems that they have been playing the same music with a few new songs here and there. Back on topic, after the operator answered the phone, I asked, “Why do you guys keep playing this crappy song?” To which I got the response “We, uhh, get a lot of requests for it.” After that I didn’t exactly have a reasonable response, so I said bye. Thinking about the conversation while ordering some food I thought to my self. “Self, maybe it is not directly the stations fault they play the crap music, maybe it’s the listeners.” So after over-thinking the whole thing I came up with this conclusion. The Studios have a death grip on the radio stations, people listen to the death gripped stations, people begin to like what is played on the radio because…well…it’s the only thing they hear. Then the listener begins to think like this, from first thought to last: 1) Well this music isn’t that great. 2) It is the only thing on the radio. 3) I guess I will have to listen to it. After some time, usually a few weeks of hearing the same song over and over and over the listener begins to, gasp, like it! 4)I love this music and I will never need anything new ever because this radio station plays great music.

Now you might be thinking, well thats not so bad. But you are wrong. Video killed the radio star you say? I say Radio killed good music. Before you stop reading this thinking, “wow Mike you are an idiot” let me explain myself. Radio plays the same music, people like the music. The music starts to suck, people notice but have no choice but to listen to the “new” songs that suck. So they start to like the “new” sucky music because they don’t have anything else to listen to. Now the listeners start to like the sucky music and say that it is just as good as the old stuff, but it sucks. Causing a downward spiral of crap music.

This is going to be a bold statement, if you are sitting at your desk please put caps on your drinks, find a chair with seat belts or just hold on tight. Radio is what causes bad music. People cannot ever listen to anything other than what is on the radio and that makes people go for music that is total crap? Don’t believe me, how does a band like Nickelback sell so many albums? How does a band like The killers sell so many albums? NEWS FLASH!!! These two bands are possibly the worst “rock” bands ever to assemble. AND THEY GET PAID TO SELL CRAP?!?!? I wish I could sell crap and make millions off of it. Also, just because a band puts out one good album does not mean that, that band automatically will always make good music. The Killers, hot fuss. Damn good album, I actually went out and bought it. The new album I listened to it, automatically said “The Killers tried to take a step forward with their music, and ended up taking 3 jumps back” (and you can quote me on that). Here was a band that I liked a lot, good lyrics fun to listen to. But they tried to change the forumla for some reason, and now they are one of the least favorite bands. This same thing happened with Green Day. Good in their early years, now they blow.

So what was looking to be a few word rant, turned into something much larger. Good times.

Please look into other music, don’t let the radio choose what you listen to, there have been some amazing bands in the past that just never get the respect they deserve. Please be original, just because its played on the radio everyday 5 times an hour does not mean its the only music on the face of the planet. Listen to different music. Explore. Enjoy. Don’t get taken by the studios and the stations that they have a death grip on.

If you disagree with me, you are wrong. Just try some new music, also don’t just stop after the first band you listen to, there is some crappy music out there, just keep looking for new stuff. Don’t let the man tell you what you like, let you tell you what you like.

Leave a Reply

